Concrete Skills

For this post, I read about the Concrete Skills pattern. This pattern is about when seeking a new role on a development team, the team may not want to risk the possibility that one may you be able to contribute to the team. They may think this because you may not have much concrete work to show your skillset and prove to teams you are able to contribute. The solution to this problem according to the text, is to acquire and maintain concrete skills. In order to do this, the text suggests collecting CVs of people whose skills you respect. Collecting CVs helps give an idea to what skills are useful and looked for when joining these teams. After learning these skills, then build a project using them to demonstrate that you can apply those newly learned skills.

I found this pattern to be useful because I am currently in the process of applying to jobs, so this pattern is very prevalent to me. Collecting CVs of those already in the industry, or those with more experience is something I had not thought of. However I believe it is a good way to find skills that you may be missing. Collecting a list of skills is also useful in the sense that common buzzwords used among CVs can be noted to help get past HR filters and managers who construct teams based off of those buzzwords.

I found the statement that describes hiring managers requiring to take a leap of faith on choosing who they hire, and having concrete work allows you to meet them halfway to be interesting. I found this to be interesting because it changes my perspective on the hiring process.

This pattern has changed the way I go about looking for new skills to learn. When learning new skills, I sometimes plateau and get overwhelmed with what I should be looking into. Now after reading this pattern, going into the future I will start collecting CVs because having a list of skills will be useful to direct my focus in the skills I should be learning.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started